Nightmares of Novella

Waking up in cold sweat at 2:45am in the morning can have its frustrating yet worned out effect on you. Especially when you dream about being in tragic situations with close ones right there in the comfort of your own home. Ahh, i’ve been here before, just a week ago or so if i remember correctly, but that unholy catastrophe of a Tsunami that i visioned weren’t as negatively breathtaking compared to what i’m about to tell you right now – The 2nd unfaithful nightmare, The Thunderous Tornados.

So there i was and I believe i was heading to work. Armed with extreme certainty, i boarded the train (that had the inside look – no – the exact replica of a bus) yet there i was, puzzled and confused about a strange encounter earlier on with a woman who said nothing about who she “really” was, while ignorantly taking the identity of someone i’m dating right now in reality. As we were walking towards the train station, i began analysing her when she was talking to me. “This strange overjoyed woman that was happy to see me is shorter, looked nothing like “her” yet she was acting like as if she was her! — What’s going on here, where is “honey” and who are you?!”. At this point, overwhelmed with confusion, i lost all the comfort that she showered me with when we first met. I needed an answer to these questions in my head. “I am ‘her’, she says, with a strange smile and begins continuing talking about her day. Thinking about it now, i cant seem to remember why i didnt pursue the matter any further, i took her obvious lie as an answer to my questions, walked with her, dropped her off at her place and left her as i headed my way towards the train station.

Sitting at the back of the train, i knew something was wrong. I had to know for sure if that was indeed “honey”. I called her phone and she picked up, sounding as if she just woke up and as i was talking to her, we quickly established that the woman i met was indeed a stranger, a creepy one who had a mild psychological control over me. “Honey, are you there? – hello?, honey? honey!, hello?! ho.n..”. The conversation went dead. What i saw outside of my window, those crippling few minutes brought paralysing fear over my body and crying in my surrounding. A mother who held her baby whom continously started vomiting making a pool of filth in an instant in the next seat, paid no attention to her unusual sick child because just like everyone else, we were watching the destruction that was taking place in the outside world of our train. Three tonados circling around like a giant black of evil while red lightning struck on the ground far more worse than any deady thunderstorm i’ve seen or heard of. It was as if the wrath of Zues himself was at play here. Fire and flames danced all around the what was known a place of living where people resided as the black tonados kept tearing anything and everything in its path. Birds were falling from the sky like fireballs, some were still breathing as they were on fire while others died in an instant from the lightning strikes and then there were those who were burning right before me. Their bones were turning into ashes. At that point, anguish would be an understatement of what i saw on their faces. You just simply know, no one survived out there.

That visioned quickly brought me to the next one where we were on the ground, safe from the disaster. Everyone was shaken by what they have just seen. The train employee instructed us to sit tight here. Just our luck, the train that we were in broke down. We were given instructions to wait here for the next one thats on its way. So we began sitting under a sheltered building. In a row they sat. Mothers holding their children tightly. Men, women, children all sat and waited while a few were crying in fear. Me?, i stood there walking back and forth trying to comprehend what just happened. “Hey, i’m Paul”. he said. A man who was sitting on the floor looking up at me. “Oh, I’m Rudy”, firmly shaking his hand while the words ‘i’m not gonna die here today’ was running through my mind like a marquee. I could see it on his face. That man has lost all hope, he was ready to die if the situation presented itself to him. Perhaps maybe he just found out he lost someone dear to him? – maybe i did too. Honey stopped talking to me right in the middle of our conversation. Just right before i could tell her what was going on outside and maybe even warn her. Maybe something happened to her. What about my family? — Mom, sis and my two little nephews. Where are they now?.

“Alright!”, i said. “Listen everybody, whatever happens. we’ll get through this. I am not gonna die here today, we are not gonna die here today. Just calm down if you can, don’t panic so you can think clearly and solve problems in a quick-danger situations. We’re gonna be o — FUCK, MOVE! THERE’S A CAR COMING!. FUCK, MOVE NOW!”.

It was too late. Flew right in where we were. Half of the people got hit by the car. Innocent children whose lives never even began yet died painfully together with their mothers in a worse death scenario possible ever. The loud thud of human meeting steel was nothing compared to watching tonadoes forming around us. Paul, fully aware of whats going around him, still sat there. I guess he has accepted his death. It was only a matter of minutes before his life ends. “I’m not gonna die here today, I’m NOT gonna die here today”. With that in mind, i looked around me to get out of this place. Tonadoes all around me except straight ahead. I ran, as fast as i could into the open realizing that its all over if a lightning starts striking or if the tonadoes catches up to me. I kept running and running, i felt my leg being pulled back by the wind. I dare not turn. If i was going to die that very moment, the last thing i want imprinted in my mind is staring at that black death of wind in my face before it all ends. Somehow i pulled away from that slight force and kept running ahead and all i saw was a man doing the same and suddenly i felt the worse was over. I felt safe for i knew that the tonadoes have already passed this area. I turned back and i saw destruction at its play. All those lives aren’t going to stand a chance at all and thats when it hit me. “I survived, I’m alive”.

Like i said, waking in a cold sweat isn’t fun nor are nightmares for that matter. Twice in a week, already. This definitely isn’t fun. I’m curious though, how can a baby vomit that much like that of man. It seemed like an unholy sign. who was that woman?. Was she trying to save me? – is that why she pretended to be someone i’m dating at the moment. The grip that she had on me was unusually strong. I never walked away from her even though i knew she wasn’t who she claims to be. My mind could have been fighting that “grip”, maybe perhaps thats why i was having confused thoughts and questioned her in the end. It was as if, i was under a spell. Who was she? – come to think of it now, maybe i would have died like the rest of my close ones if i wasn’t with her earlier before the incident. Maybe.

Yea, Maybe. Me, having lost faith in god, could she be one? .. a god? – perhaps trying to remind me that ive not been forsaken. Trying to instill that faith in me that i had many years ago that doesn’t exist anymore right now. Then again, if thats what it is, this wouldn’t be the first time i had a nightmare being saved by a god. As a kid, i did have a dream whereby i got saved by Mother Mary from demons that were chasing me and even though she was talking to me, i couldn’t hear her or read her lips to make out what she was saying.

Whatever it was, I’m not ready to have a 3rd nightmare regarding natural disasters anytime soon.

About Rudy Prabahgaran

"To follow by faith alone is to follow blindly" - Benjamin Franklin. View all posts by Rudy Prabahgaran

Leave a Reply

